DIY Envelop Pillows

Fall envelop pillows

**********9/1/14 update! Check out my new Etsy Shop: Silberez Creations*********************

Two things: I wanted to try out a new way of making pillows and I wanted pillows that would bring some fall love into the house. I am loving how these pillows turned out. They were so easy to make and so easy to remove the cover if you need to wash them or change them for a different look.

The tutorial I followed was this one I had pinned a couple months ago. The first thing I did was measure my pillow which was 16 inches by 12 inches. Then I cut the fabric to 38 inches by 13 inches (2 times the length of the pillow plus 6 inches by the width of the pillow plus 1 inch for seam allowance).

IMG_0979

Then I hemmed both of the short ends.

IMG_0982

Then, with the patterned side facing up, I wrapped the hemmed edges around the pillow until there was a snug fit. The hemmed edges overlap each other. I pinned one side and pulled the pillow out the other side.

IMG_0983

Then I pinned and sewed the ends with a half inch seam allowance

IMG_0984

IMG_0985 IMG_0986

I turned the cover inside out.

IMG_0987 IMG_0988

Then stuffed the pillow inside. Super easy and it only took me about 15 – 20 minutes per pillow.

IMG_1018

IMG_1027

Oh and one more fun thing about these pillows, Dan picked out the fabric. He probably doesn’t want me saying that. But if I hadn’t forced  asked him to go to Joann’s with me, I would’ve been there an extra two hours and who knows what I would have come home with.

Similar pillows will be available in my Etsy shop. Check it out at SilberezCreations.etsy.com

How are you adding fall touches to your home? Does your significant other have a secret eye for design also?

30 thoughts on “DIY Envelop Pillows

  1. Elena, I have to say everything you’ve been doing has been awesome. You know I going to make my Alicia a pillow for her bed in her new apartment for school. She leaves this friday to live in Davis. “UC Davis” I will miss her so so much. This is how I’m going to make it now, Thanks for your tips. 😀 Keep the fun up!

  2. Oh wow! That looks so easy! I definitely need to try that! 🙂 Thanks so much for joining us for the Turn It Up Tuesday blog hop!!

  3. These are beautiful and definitely adds a nice autumn touch! I have hopes one day to own a sewing machine. Until then I am pinning this for reference.
    Stopping by from the Bloglovin hop. Following you on Bloglovin, Twitter, and Facebook.
    Have a great weekend 🙂
    Bismah @
    Simple Mama

  4. Pingback: A Faux Mantel | The Silberez Life

  5. Pingback: DIY Fall Projects | Skip To My Lou

  6. Pingback: Turn It Up Tuesday | Adventures of a Jayhawk Mommy

  7. Pingback: Turn It Up Tuesday | Adventures of a Jayhawk Mommy

  8. Pingback: Turn It Up Tuesdays 2! » This Momma's Ramblings

  9. Pingback: 9.25.13 Pinterest Party and Giveaway! - The Taylor House

  10. Pingback: Co-Hosting Today: The Pinterest Power Party! » Sweet Benanna & Sam

  11. Pingback: Welcome To The Pinterest Power Party! {Link Up}

  12. Pingback: Crocheted dishcloths | The Silberez Life

  13. Pingback: Turn It Up Tuesdays blog hop #2 | Epic Mommy Adventures

  14. Pingback: 116 Homemade Pillows DIY | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  15. Pingback: The Inspiration Board: creative party spotlight ~120~ | homework: creative inspiration for home and life

We love comments and want to hear from you!

