The beginnings of a craft room

This past week Dan and I have been off on vacation and it has been soooo nice to just relax. Like I said in this post, we made a trip to LA to visit our niece. When we got back, we were planning on camping for a night or two at Mt. Diablo but the day we were coming back (Sunday) a fire broke out at the park and is still being put out now. Needless to say, our plans changed and I think it was for the better.  Temperatures were in the high 90’s/low 100’s at the beginning of this week so going camping would have been miserable weather wise.

Instead of booking a hotel and going on another mini trip, we decided to just stay home. Most of our days have been pretty relaxed – going out to eat, going to the movies (which I rarely want to do so that made Dan happy), and going shopping. I also decided to get started on a project that has been desperately needed: setting up a craft room.

I’ve always been into making things by hand but this past year my interest in the DIY lifestyle has skyrocketed. With that, so has my accumulation of “stuff”.  The upstairs of our house has four rooms: our master bedroom, a guest bedroom, an office, and a loft. Up until yesterday, I had various craft stuff in every room. My sewing machine, ironing board, cutting board and fabric were in the loft, taking up the whole room; my paper craft materials, and a bunch of other little things were in the office; and my yarn, crochet things and paint supplies were in the guest room. Not only did this make things messy but it also made it difficult for me to work on projects. So we decided to change around the rooms. We took the bed from the guest room and moved it to the office, so now the office and guest bed are in the same room. Honestly, the office looks better now and more complete. Not a huge difference. We’ll definitely work on it more later maybe painting the room, adding window treatments, adding a headboard ect.

office change

That left the former guest room to become my new craft room. After the bed moved out, I cleared out everything else and sold a dresser. Here’s what the guest room looked like before. Well not really a before, this is more like we just started and then I took a picture.

guest room before

Then we made a trip to Ikea and purchased a shelf unit, desk, tabletop, legs, laptop stand, boxes, a chair, and a stool. Our total came to $288. For a complete and very functional craft room, I would say that amount is a drop in the bucket. Kind of reminds me of the part in the movie Ted when Ted says “It’s all uhhh Ikea. Did the whole place for $47.”

Then came the fun part, putting everything together. Putting Ikea furniture together is a pain in the ass but I think we’ve gotten better. This time around, there were a lot less four letter words thrown around =)

ikea mess

Ready to see how it turned out? Keep in mind it still needs work. But in just two short days, I think we got a lot done. Here’s reminder of what it looked like before.

IMG_0466

And now after. Ta da!

my organized craft room

IMG_0958

A close up of the desk.

IMG_0977

A little accessorizing.

IMG_0944

Some organizing touches with my favorite washi tape.

craft room close ups

And possibly my favorite thing on the desk, my laptop stand. Not only is it more ergonomic, I just love the color!

IMG_0971 IMG_0957

The sitting area with a side table that can also be used as extra seating.

IMG_0976

Here is the other side of the room. The dresser holds all of my crochet necessities and the table to the right is for cutting fabric.

IMG_0964

IMG_0965

IMG_0967

Although this room isn’t complete (still need to add window treatments, art on the walls…) I think the layout is perfect for what I need it for.

craft room lay out

I looooove this room. LOVE it. I may never go downstairs ever again. Sometimes I feel like a teenager. Whenever Dan walks in, I get a sudden urge to yell “GET OUT!”. Just kidding. I do owe a big thank you to my wonderful husband. He’s often the muscle behind a lot of my projects. This Ikea furniture may be cheap, but it certainly isn’t light.

One more thing on the room. I’m usually not a fan of white walls but I think I am going to leave this room white and just continue to add bright colorful accessories. I kind of like how everything pops. Or I’m just trying to convince myself I like the white walls because I don’t feel like painting. We’ll see.

So, what do you think? Do any new projects or room makeovers make you so giddy you feel like a child again?

15 thoughts on “The beginnings of a craft room

  1. What a marvelous space you two made! I love the way your new craft room looks and it’ll give you that private “space” to organize your projects. And it’s bright and cheery with the accessories. I really enjoy my little utility room because it has my sewing machine, crochet stuff, camera, even my special baking tools,- frosting tips,etc. As Nate would say, “Good Job”!

  2. LOVE IT!!!! Elena! How do you put together this amazingness in a few days? Everything looks so great, down to the details. Really, come see Haze sometime soon and swing by for a consult. You’re a rock star!

  3. Love it! I love the organization in your crafts room…it makes me wish I was more creative!

    Thank you so much for linking up with Turn It Up Tuesdays – we love having you! 🙂

    Natasha @ epicmommyadventures.com

  4. Oooo I like it so much!! I have a craft room but it also has a bed in it… thought I could make it work with everything in there, but after looking at yours all neat and tidy minus the bed, I now know mine’s gotta go. LOVE the cubby hole desk!

We love comments and want to hear from you!

