An organized coffee station

I love coffee and I love tea. But ever since we moved into our house, we’ve had both so inconsistently. I just haven’t been able to find the right place for it  in the kitchen.  That’s one and a half years of trying to figure out a coffee routine, which is sad.

One of the problems is (and I realize I shouldn’t be complaining about this) we have too many options. This kitchen is triple, if not more, the size of the kitchen we had in the condo. In the condo, there was only one logical place to set up a coffee area which was close to both the refrigerator and sink. Since this kitchen is so big, it’s hard to find a place that’s convenient to wash out the carafe and grab creamer from the fridge. It’s not that I’m lazy (well not that lazy) I just like to find the most efficient process for…everything.

Last week I got officially sick of myself and sometimes Dan, buying coffee at work. So I decided to put some real work into rearranging a section of our kitchen to create the perfect coffee station for us. Ready to see how it turned out?

Ta-daa!

IMG_0685

IMG_0697

It’s set up to the right of the sink so filling the carafe or cleaning up messes is easy. And since the refrigerator is on the other side I decided to use those little mini creamers that don’t have to be refrigerated.

IMG_0702

For the labels I finally got some washi tape which I love and I put clear labels over it.

IMG_0675 IMG_0700

In order to keep this process going smoothly and to keep the counter space clear, I dedicated one cabinet and one drawer to its “maintenance”.

IMG_0688

Starting from the bottom and working your way up are: mugs and travel mugs; coffee, tea and honey; espresso cups and frother; more espresso cups and tea kettle. I’ll probably keep the tea kettle on the counter but for now it’s nice in cabinet.

I found this airtight canister at World Market and printed out a label for it.

IMG_0689

For the drawer I found a utensil organizer I wasn’t using and filled it with everything else I need for coffee and tea.

IMG_0691

And this is how it’s organized. I’m not really sure what I need the straws for. Iced coffee? I just needed a place to put them, and I like the colors.

coffee and tea drawer

Oh and I spent a whole Saturday doing this. Ahhh what a life.

an organized coffee station

How do you keep your coffee/tea area organized? Any tips?

This post is linked to:

DIY Showoff
Flamingo Toes
Sew Darn Crafty
Share Your Creativity
12 thoughts on “An organized coffee station

    • Hi Anita! Hmmm currently I take my coffee with a little of everything on that tray: cream, sugar, chocolate (Mexican chocolate Abuelita brand, oh yeah) and cinnamon. My coffee preferences do change quite often though. Sometimes I like my coffee black, or just with cream or milk, or I’ll make a latte.

  1. I love your coffee station! And your labeling is so cute! I need something like this desperately in my kitchen! Visiting from ABFOL!
    Leah @ GraceLeeCottage.blogspot.com

  2. I think it looks great, can’t wait to stop by and share a cup with you. Ido so envy your space and how you have utilized it. Well done.

  3. I have a very similar set up and I love it.Since I have very limited counter space I set up my station in the cabinet right above my kitchen sink.

We love comments and want to hear from you!

