Baked honey whole wheat banana donuts

baked banana donuts

Remember this post where I talked about having an ice cream maker, panini press, juicer…ect? Yeah, I have donut pans too. Have you seen the movie Crazy Stupid Love? Remember when Ryan Gosling talks about having useless, as seen on tv products? That always reminds me of myself. But not in an embarrassing way. Instead I think “I want scissors sharp enough to cut a penny and a massage chair sounds cool too”.

But back to the donuts. Contrary to what it may seem like, these donut pans have actually gotten good use. This recipe comes from this banana bread recipe by Nancy Clark which is my absolute favorite banana bread recipe ever. I just modified it a little bit to include honey…and cinnamon and nutmeg. I put cinnamon and nutmeg in everything because my mom always does. Growing up I thought cinnamon and nutmeg were staple ingredients like eggs and flour. And I guess I still do.

I’ve been watching these bad boys get riper and riper everyday and I decided today was the day I would turn them into some baked goodness.

IMG_0262

So I mashed them all with a fork until they looked like this.

IMG_0267

Then I added the egg whites, canola oil, milk, honey, baking soda, baking powder,salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

IMG_0273

IMG_0282 IMG_0275

Then I added the flour and gently mixed it in.

IMG_0287

I prepped the pans with some Pam and then began to fill the donut pans almost to the top. Messy, I know.IMG_0285

IMG_0292 IMG_0290

I baked them at 350 and found that 17 minutes was the perfect amount of time for my oven.

IMG_0295

IMG_0303

This recipe makes a ton of batter so I actually ended up making 12 donuts and 12 muffins. If you make muffins, just remember to adjust the time. I found that 25 minutes worked well for these muffins.

IMG_0318

IMG_0321

So there you have it. Healthy, delicious, and super moist baked banana donuts, with a side of muffins.

Moist and delicious baked donuts

Baked Honey Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

Ingredients

6 large well-ripened bananas

4 egg whites

4 tablespoons canola oil

2/3 cup milk

3/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

3 cups whole wheat flour

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350. Mash the bananas with a fork. Add egg whites, oil, milk, honey, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg and mix well. Gently mix in the flour. Pour into prepared donut pans and bake for 15 – 20 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes then transfer to a cooling rack.

10 thoughts on “Baked honey whole wheat banana donuts

  1. Oh my Elena, I believe you are on your way to becoming the next Martha Stewart. In fact let just move her aside, and bring in the new and fresh Elena.;D

  2. As I got to sample these a short while after coming out of the oven let me just say,”Yum Yum!” Of course cinnamon and nutmeg have a place in most “favorite” baked goods!

  3. Yum! I bought a donut pan a few months ago. I am pinning and making these soon!I would love for you to share and link up at my weekly TGIF Link Party if you haven’t already this week. Your favorite posts, most popular, recent or new! The party is open every Thursday night and closes Wednesday’s at midnight. Followed by (Not SO) Wordless Wednesday! http://apeekintomyparadise.blogspot.com/.
    I would be honored if you join us and follow to stay connected Have a wonderful week!
    Hugs, Cathy

  4. Pingback: Monday's Motivation & Travel Take-Alongs | Useful Beautiful Home

We love comments and want to hear from you!

